Creating a Video

Every time I created a video I was surprised by how much I learned about the topic I was presenting on the video, how much I had to clarify my ideas and to choose my words in order to be precise, clear and succinct.

In the last video I created, I made sure I didn’t put too many words on each slide; I even try to display pictures instead of words every time I could. I also made sure I was not reading my slides because I always find that very boring when I watch a video where the narrator does that.

I found the tips provided by Gary Reynolds very useful so I want to save them here:

Presentation Tips 

Gary Reynolds in ‘The Naked Presenter’ highlights some key points for instructors to consider when designing power point slide presentations. 

  1. Your presentation will be much better if you can create an emotional connection with your audience. Content alone is never sufficient. Start your presentation off with some ‘punch’! According to the ‘primacy effect’, “we best remember what happens at the beginning of a presentation more than any other part” (p. 64). Ask yourself, how can I make my presentation start off with some PUNCH:
    • Personal – A personal story can be very effective!
    • Unexpected – Open with a shocking quote or tap into an emotion with something surprising.
    • Novel – Present a powerful image accompanied with a relevant short story.
    • Challenging – Call on your audience to use their brains. How much would it take to…? How would you?
    • Humorous – If you can start off with a laugh or giggle, you’re audience will be more likely to pay attention 
  2. NEVER read off your slides! Some viewers will find this not only boring but insulting! Garr states that, “putting lots of text on a slide and then reading [it] is a great way to alienate your audience and ruin any hopes you have of making a connection” (p. 81).“If you plan to read Power Point slides, you might as well call off the presentation…because your ability to connect and persuade your audience or teach them anything will approach zero. Reading slides is no way to show presence, make a connection, or even transfer information in a memorable way.” (p. 81)
  3. Reynolds suggests that there should not be more than 9 words per slide – post interesting images or pictures on your slides instead. Why? Text will soon be forgotten but an interesting, shocking or captivating picture will sometimes stay with us forever! Well, at least a lot longer than a stream of text will! 
  4. Don’t start off with an agenda. Show the agenda AFTER you CONNECT with your viewing audience. Remember the ‘primacy effect’! 
  5. When planning your power point, think of your slides as pages of a good book or an interesting story that has conflict, contrasts, problems and solutions. Your viewing audience will form an emotional bond and riveting attention if you can do this!

It helped me build my Digital Literacy skills which is an essential skill to have as a teacher today. This article lists 11 Reasons Every Educator Needs a Video Strategy.

Many of the reasons listed there are directly likned to the different instructional strategies studied in this course such as Gamification (video games for education), Learning Styles (videos are good for Visual Learners). I would add to that Flipped Classrooms.

Tools: everytime I had to create a video, I used Screencast-O-Matic. I find this tool very easy to use and reliable.

Here are the different videos I created for PIDP:

Informal Assessment Strategy: RSQC2

Instructional Strategies (In-Class Portfolio)

Video Testimonial

Leave a Reply

